Calendario liturgico Directorium 2023 

Download Now

Cistercian Congregation of St. Gertrude the Great

The Holy See, at the request of the Abbot General together with his council, by decree of 27 June 2022, has erected the Cistercian Congregation of St. Gertrude the Great, with the Cistercian monasteries of:

Conventual Priory St. Mary of Langwaden (Germany).
Abbey of St. Marienstern (Germany)
Abbey of St. Marienthal (Germany)
Conventual Priory of St. Mary of Helfta (Germany)

Along with the erection, the Holy See approved the Constitutions of the Congregation and appointed the Prior of Langwaden, Fr. Bruno Robeck Ocist, as President of the Congregation for 12 years. According to the new Constitutions the new Congregation is the heir of the Congregation of the Most Pure Heart of Mary, erected by Pius XI on 27 January 1923.

Remembering that the Congregation is the natural way of belonging to the Order, let us thank God for the erection of this new Congregation and pray for its future consolidation.

Rome, July 8, 2022, Memory of Blessed Pope Eugene III